Book Clubs

Love it or hate it, come and discuss it! Our free Book Clubs are a great way to meet other book lovers and participate in lively discussions.

Sessions are led by our own professional book lovers (OPL staff members) and all book club sessions are free and drop-in. Copies of titles will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis at the information desk at the branch that is holding your book club session.

Check out our FAQ for more information.


Adult Book Clubs

Central Branch, 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 7 – The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
Tuesday, February 4 – The Stationery Shop by Marjan Kamali
Tuesday, March 3 – The Woo Woo by Lindsay Wong

Iroquois Ridge Branch, 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 14 – The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
Tuesday, February 11 – Normal People by Sally Rooney
Tuesday, March 10 – The Feather Thief by Kirk Johnson

Glen Abbey Branch, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, January 29 – The Woo Woo by Lindsay Wong
Wednesday, February 26 – The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh
Wednesday, March 25 – The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose

Woodside Branch, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 16 – The Feather Thief by Kirk Johnson
Thursday, February 20 – The Gifted School by Bruce Holsinger
Thursday, March 19 – The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal

Sixteen Mile Branch, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, January 15 – An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
Wednesday, February 19 – If I Fall I Die by Michael Christie
Wednesday, March 18 – Wonder by Emma Donoghue


Historical Fiction Book Club

Join us at Oakville Museum’s Erchless Estate in downtown Oakville to enjoy an historical book in an historical setting! Copies of titles will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis at the information desk on the Adult Floor at Central Branch. Please note that food and drink are not permitted inside Erchless Estate. Parking is available beside (north) of Erchless Estate, in addition to surrounding street parking.

Erchless Estate, 2:30pm – 3:30pm
Monday, February 10 – Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Theres Fowler
Monday, March 9 – Above All Things by Tanis Rideout 


*New* Teen Book Clubs

Beginning in February, Sixteen Mile Branch will also be offering a new Teen Book Club. Following the format of our Let’s Talk About Books program, reading a specific book is not required, just come prepared to discuss books within the theme! Our friendly book loving staff will help guide the discussion and provide some snacks for good measure.

Sixteen Mile Branch, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 5 – Coming of Age
Wednesday, March 4 – Who Done It?
Wednesday, April 1 – Books to Movies
Wednesday, May 6 – Dystopian Drama
Wednesday, June 3 – The Struggle is Real


Loading…