Exciting news! OPL.ca is getting a makeover and we're launching a new website on June 23. Please expect some downtime on June 22-23. Details

Canadian Citizenship Test – Questions & Answers

Local information

The Canadian citizenship test includes a section about your local municipal, provincial and federal electoral districts and representatives. A citizenship judge may ask you about this information at a citizenship interview.

Halton Region is made up of 4 municipalities: Burlington, Halton Hills, Milton, and Oakville.

Federal Government

Q: What is Canada’s form of government?
A: Canada is governed by the Federal Government.

Q: Who is Canada’s Head of State?
A: The representative of the Queen for all Canada is the Governor General.

Q: Who is Canada’s Head of Government?
APrime Minister Justin Trudeau

Q: Which party is currently in power?
ALiberal Party of Canada

Q: Who is the Leader of the Opposition?
AErin O’Toole

Q: Which party is the Official Opposition?
AConservative Party of Canada

Q: What are the other opposition parties and their leaders?
ANew Democratic Party of Canada – Jagmeet Singh

Bloc Québécois – Yves-Francois Blanchet

Green Party of Canada – Annamie Paul

Q: Who is my representative (Member of Parliament) in Ottawa?



Anita Anand (MP) – Oakville

Pam Damoff (MP) – Oakville North-Burlington


Karina Gould (MP) – Burlington

Pam Damoff (MP) – Oakville North-Burlington


Halton Hills

Michael Chong (MP) – Wellington-Halton Hills


Adam van Koeverdon (MP)

Provincial Government

Q: Who is Head of State of the Province of Ontario?
A: The representative of the Queen for the province of Ontario is the Lieutenant-Governor, Elizabeth Dowdeswell.

Q: Who is Ontario’s Head of Government?
A: Premier Doug Ford

Q: Which provincial party is in power?
A: Ontario Progressive Conservative Party  (PC)

Q: What are the provincial opposition parties and who are their leaders?
A:  Ontario New Democratic Party (NDP) – Andrea Horwath. (NDP is Ontario’s Official Opposition party)

Ontario Liberal Party  – Steven Del Duca

Green Party of Ontario – Mike Schreiner

Q: Who is my Provincial Member of Parliament (MPP)?


Stephen Crawford – (Oakville)

Effie Triantafilopoulos – (Oakville North-Burlington)


Jane McKenna – (Burlington)
Effie Triantafilopoulos – (Oakville North-Burlington)


Municipal Government

Q: Who are the Mayors and Councillors in each of the Municipalities within Halton?

Oakville –   Town of Oakville 905-845-6601

See links for maps of ward boundaries and Members of Council.

Mayor –   Rob Burton
Ward 1 – Beth Robertson; Sean O’Meara
Ward 2 – Ray Chisholm; Cathy Duddeck
Ward 3 – Janet Haslett-Theall; Dave Gittings
Ward 4 – Peter Longo; Allan Elgar
Ward 5 – Marc Grant; Jeff Knoll
Ward 6 – Natalia Lishchyna; Tom Adams
Ward 7 – Jasvinder Sandhu; Pavan Parmar

Burlington – City of Burlington

See links for maps of ward boundaries and Members of Council.

Mayor –   Marianne Meed Ward
Ward 1 – Kelvin Galbraith
Ward 2 – Lisa Kearns
Ward 3 – Rory Nisan
Ward 4 – Shawna Stolte
Ward 5 – Paul Sharman
Ward 6 – Angelo Bentivegna

Halton Hills – Town of Halton Hills

Mayor –   Rick Bonnette
Ward 1 – Jon Hurst; Michael Albano; Clark Somerville
Ward 2 – Ted Brown; Bryan Lewis; Clark Somerville
Ward 3 – Moya Johnson; Wendy Farrow-Reed; Jane Fogal
Ward 4 – Bob Inglis; Ann Lawlor; Wendy Farrow-Reed; Jane Fogal

Milton – Town of Milton

Mayor –   Gordon Krantz
Ward 1 – Colin Best; Kristina Tesser Derksen
Ward 2 – Rick Malboeuf; John Challinor II
Ward 3 – Mike Cluett; Rick Di Lorenzo
Ward 4 – Zeeshan Hamid; Sameera Ali

Q: Who are the Councillors for Halton Region?
A: There are 20 members; the Chair is Gary Carr


Revised March 31 2021

Branch Info

Sunday - Closed
Monday - Closed
Tuesday 11:30AM - 7PM
Wednnesday 11:30AM - 7PM
Thursday 11:30AM - 7PM
Friday 9:30AM - 5PM
Saturday 9:30AM - 5PM
Phone (905) 815-2042
Fax (905) 815-2024

120 Navy Street
Oakville ON L6J 2Z4